Statute of Limitations in Wisconsin for Personal Injury

August 5, 2014

Once you have been injured in Wisconsin, you are allotted a specific amount of time to file a personal injury lawsuit. This is regulated by a statute of limitations, which means that you would be barred from seeking compensation as soon as it expires. Depending on the nature of your claim, however, the statute of limitations will vary in length. For this reason, it is highly recommended that you discuss your case with a Milwaukee personal injury lawyer from Welcenbach Law Offices, S.C. as soon as you have been injured. In doing so, you can ensure that you will have enough time to build an effective case and bring suit against all responsible parties; should you wait too long, your chances of securing damages could be jeopardized.

While most personal injury claims are subject to a three-year statute of limitations, the time limitations may differ if your case involves:

  • Medical Malpractice: 3 years
  • Product Liability: 3 years
  • Property Damage: 6 years
  • Libel / Defamation: 2 years
  • Intentional Tort: 2 years

It is also important to note that Wisconsin recognizes a different statute of limitations for minors and incompetents. For this reason, it may be in your best interest to speak with a Milwaukee personal injury attorney from Welcenbach Law Offices, S.C. if you are unsure of just how long you will have to file a lawsuit. Our firm is well-versed in all aspects of Wisconsin’s personal injury laws, so you can trust that we will be able to answer any questions that you may have about your claim. All you have to do is give us a call today at (414) 375-9133 for a free consultation. You can also submit a free case evaluation form directly from our website if you would prefer to contact us online.